2024 Faculty Service Awardees

The Faculty Service Award recognizes full-time faculty whose extraordinary and creative voluntary service has contributed significantly to the University’s diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) efforts. Recognized activities may include substantial service on a university-wide or school-wide diversity/equity committee and/or development/implementation of DEI programming that impacts Columbia and its neighbors (i.e. anti-racist initiatives, pipeline programs, community service programs). 

The recipients of the 2024 Faculty Service Award are:


Gita V. Johar, PhD, MBA
Meyer Feldberg Professor of Business
Columbia Business School

"I’ve been fortunate to have served in positions where I can put my beliefs in diversity and equity into action and make a lasting difference."


Elisa Konofagou, PhD
Robert and Margaret Hariri Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Professor of Radiology (Physics); Director of the Ultrasound and Elasticity Imaging Laboratory
Columbia Engineering

"One of my objectives is to facilitate the path to graduate school to underrepresented minorities and women who are typically not encouraged to do so by their closed circles." 

Yamile M. Martí Haidar, PhD, MSSW
Associate Professor of Professional Practice
School of Social Work

"My teaching philosophy requires me to bring the everyday lives of the populations we serve into the classroom. Issues of power, race, oppression and privilege (PROP) are central to social work and to my identity as a Latina instructor, researcher and clinician."

Kendall Thomas, JD
Nash Professor of Law; Director of the Studio for Law and Culture
Columbia Law School

"As the senior tenured faculty member of color at the law school since 2000, I have either led or been a principal participant in a number of law school initiatives to promote the values of diversity, equity and inclusion at Columbia Law School, and in the larger Columbia community."