Past Provosts

The Trustees of the University established the Office of the Provost in 1811 and appointed John M. Mason. Five years later, the office was abolished with the president assuming most of the duties of the provost. From the time the office was reestablished in 1912 until the present, the precise title (or titles, in some cases) has changed but the responsibility as the chief academic officer of the University has remained constant. The following lists the provosts of the University and their exact titles by date of service: