Provost Leadership Fellows 2017-2019

June 23, 2017

I am delighted to announce that the third cohort of faculty members have been selected for the Provost Leadership Fellows Program. 

The Provost Leadership Fellows Program is a two-year program designed for Columbia faculty members who seek to complement their research and scholarly activities with administrative and leadership responsibilities. It is a key component in our efforts to ensure that a promising and diverse set of our faculty members have the resources and support they need to thrive in their careers here. Fellows will have a number of learning and leadership development opportunities; interact with the University’s senior leaders and administrators; collaborate with colleagues in the Provost's Office and in other academic and administrative offices across campus; and strengthen peer networks across campus.

All Fellows possess outstanding track records of scholarship, research, teaching and service, along with a clear interest in administrative service. Candidates are nominated by their Dean or Department Chair. Nominations are evaluated by a review committee that includes senior faculty members from all campuses. 

The Provost Leadership Fellows Program was established in 2013. A University-wide Task Force on Faculty Development had identified leadership training opportunities for faculty as a key pathway to enhancing academic governance. Similarly, the Provost's Advisory Council for the Enhancement of Faculty Diversity expressed support for programs to increase the presence of female and underrepresented minority faculty in leadership positions. To date, 25 faculty members have participated in the program. The first cohort of Fellows completed the program in 2015 and the second cohort completed the program in May. 

Please join me in congratulating the 2017-2019 Fellows.

John H. Coatsworth


The 2017-2019 Fellows are: 

Greg Bryan, Professor of Astronomy, Faculty of Arts and Sciences

Henry Colecraft, Associate Professor and Vice Chair of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics; Associate Professor of Pharmacology, College of Physician and Surgeons

Patricia Dailey, Associate Professor of English and Comparative Literature, Faculty of Arts and Sciences; Director, Institute for Research on Women, Gender and Sexuality

Roseanna Graham, James Winston Benfield Associate Professor of Operative Dentistry (in Dental Medicine) at Columbia University Medical Center, and Director, Division of Operative Dentistry, College of Dental Medicine

Ioannis (John) Kymissis, Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Science

Malia Mason, Associate Professor and Director, Behavioral Research Laboratory, Business School

Ana Navas-Acien, Professor of Environmental Health Sciences, Mailman School of Public Health

Rocco Servedio, Professor and Vice Chair of Computer Science, School of Engineering and Applied Science

Arlene Smaldone, Associate Professor of Nursing at Columbia University Medical Center, Assistant Dean, Scholarship and Research, and Director, PhD Program, School of Nursing

Melissa Stockwell, Associate Professor of Pediatrics, College of Physician and Surgeons; Associate Professor of Population and Family Health, Mailman School of Public Health

Julien Teitler, Professor of Social Work, and Chair, Doctoral Program, School of Social Work

Gina Wingood, Sidney and Helaine Lerner Professor of Public Health Promotion (in Sociomedical Sciences), and Director, Lerner Center for Public Health Promotion, Mailman School of Public Health

Weiping Wu, Professor of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, and Director, Urban Planning Program, Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation