Provost Leadership Fellows 2013

December 30, 2014

The Provost Leadership Fellows Programs aims to develop leadership skills for some of our outstanding tenured faculty. Fellows will participate in a range of mentoring and learning opportunities; consult regularly with Columbia's senior administrators; and collaborate with colleagues in the Provost's Office and in other academic and administrative offices across campus. Fellows will engage directly with key campus strategic initiatives and academic processes in ways that are responsive to the Fellows' own professional development goals and interests. Participants will develop greater insight into academic initiatives, strategic planning, budget issues, and challenges in higher education.

The following are the 2013 Provost Leadership Fellows:

Ana Abraido-Lanza, Associate Professor of Sociomedical Sciences in the Mailman School of Public Health. Her research focuses on cultural, psychosocial, and socioeconomic processes that affect psychological well-being, adjustment to chronic illness, and mortality among Latinos. 

Jason Bordoff, Professor of Professional Practice in the School of International and Public Affairs and Director of the Center on Global Energy Policy, previously served as Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for Energy and Climate Change on the Staff of the National Security Council.

Angela Christiano, Richard and Mildred Rhodebeck Professor of Dermatology, is recognized as an authority in the area of genetic diseases of the skin, with a special emphasis on disorders of hair growth and hair loss.

Matthew Connelly, Professor of History, seeks to offer new, more productive ways to think about the history -- and future -- of world politics. His current research is on planning and predictions, especially for planetary threats like nuclear war and pandemics.

Michael Gerrard, Andrew Sabin Professor of Professional Practice at Columbia Law School and Director of the Center for Climate Change Law at the Earth Institute, is an expert in environmental law, climate change law, and energy law.

Fred Harris, Professor of Political Science, is a scholar of American politics with a focus on race and politics, political participation, social movement, religion and politics, political development, and African-American politics.

Andreas Hielscher, Professor of Biomedial & Electrical Engineering in the School of Engineering and Applied Science and Director of Columbia's Biophotonics and Optical Radiology Laboratory. His areas of concentration include medical imaging, biomedical optics, medical instrumentation and image processing.

Nick Homma is the Margaret Milliken Hatch Professor of Medicine and Columbia University Medical Center. Dr. Homma also serves as the Associate Chief of the Cardiology Division and has published extensively on such risk factors as aortic plaque and valvular strands.

Olatunde Johnson, Professor of Law at Columbia Law School, is an expert in constitutional law and Congressional power, and public interest law. Prior to coming to Columbia she clerked for the Supreme Court and served as a staff member on the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee.

Kathryn Johnson, Professor of Astronomy, studies the formation of galaxies by looking at the Milky Way, together with nearby galaxies in the Local Group. Much of her research looks at the process of hierarchical structure formation.

Laura Kaufman, Associate Professor of Chemistry. Her laboratory is highly interdisciplinary and focuses on the dynamics of complex, crowded systems working on supercooled liquids and biopolymer gels.

Holger Klein, Professor and Department Chair, Art History and Archaeology, focuses on Late Antique, Early Medieval, and Byzantine art and architecture, more specifically, on the cult of relics, reliquaries, and issues of cultural and artistic exchange.