Announcement Regarding the Search for the Dean of the Journalism School

October 31, 2012

Dear fellow members of the Columbia community:

I am writing to announce the formation of a search committee to help in identifying the next dean of the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism.  Following the usual practice, the search committee will conduct interviews of a select number of candidates and will submit their recommendations to me.  I will then work closely with the provost, John Coatsworth, and others, and make the final selection.  The committee welcomes all nominations and encourages you to submit letters to [email protected].

The members of the committee are:  Ann K. Cooper, CBS Professor of Professional Practice in International Journalism and Director of the Broadcasting Graduate Program; Thomas B. Edsall, Joseph Pulitzer II and Edith Pulitzer Moore Professor of Journalism; Howard W. French, Associate Professor of Journalism; Linda Fried, Dean of the Mailman School of Public Health and DeLamar Professor of Public Health Practice; LynNell Hancock GF'80 JN'81, H. Gordon Garbedian Professor of Journalism and Director of the Spencer Fellowship Program; KC Ifeanyi, student at the Journalism School; Nilda Mesa, Associate Dean of Administrative Affairs and Chief Administrative Officer at the Journalism School; Mirta Ojito JN'01, Assistant Professor of Journalism; Kenneth Prewitt, Carnegie Professor of Public Affairs and Special Advisor to the President; Michael Schudson, Professor of Journalism; Sree Sreenivasan JN'93, Chief Digital Officer and Professor of Professional Practice in the Faculty of Journalism; Duy Linh Tu JN'99, Assistant Professor of Professional Practice in the Faculty of Journalism and Head of the Digital Media Program; Betsy West, Associate Professor of Professional Practice at the Journalism School; and Tim Wu, Isidor and Seville Sulzbacher Professor of Law.

Finally, I would like to again thank Nick Lemann for his years of service.


Lee C. Bollinger