President's Commission on the History of Race and Racism at Columbia

About the Commission

As part of its Columbia's university-wide anti-racism efforts, President Lee C. Bollinger has created a faculty-led body, including stakeholders from across the University community, to address how Columbia’s historical ties to slavery and racism manifest in our present day symbols and representations, from statues to named professorships.


  • Ira I. KatznelsonRuggles Professor of Political Science and History and Deputy Director, Columbia World Projects
  • Mabel O. Wilson, George Rupp Professor of Architecture, Planning and Preservation,  Professor in African American and African Diasporic Studies, and Director, Institute for Research in African American Studies (IRAAS) at Columbia University


  • Mary C. Boyce, Provost and Professor of Mechanical Engineering
  • Claire Shipman, Vice Chair, Columbia University Board of Trustees
  • Wanda Holland Greene, Vice Chair, Columbia University Board of Trustees
  • Ana Abraído-Lanza, Vice Dean, School of Social Work and Professor of Social Work 
  • Carol Becker, Dean, School of the Arts and Professor of the Arts
  • June Cross, Director, Documentary Specialization, School of Journalism and Professor of Journalism
  • Novella Ford, Associate Director, Public Programs and Exhibitions at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture/NYPL
  • Adam GalinskyVice Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, and Paul Calello Professor of Leadership and Ethics Management, Columbia Business School
  • Farah Griffin, William B. Ransford Professor of English and Comparative Literature and African-American and African Diaspora Studies, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
  • Thai Jones, Herbert H. Lehman Curator for American History, Rare Book & Manuscript Library
  • Sandra Soo-Jin LeeChief of the Division of Ethics and Professor of Medical Humanities and Ethics, Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons
  • Stephanie McCurry, R. Gordon Hoxie Professor of American History in Honor of Dwight D. Eisenhower and Co-Director of the Lehman Center for American History
  • Dennis A. Mitchell, Executive Vice President for University Life and Senior Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement at Columbia University, and Professor of Dental Medicine at Columbia University Medical Center
  • Anupama Rao, Professor of History, Barnard College
  • John ReddickAdjunct Associate Professor of Architecture, Planning and Preservation
  • Sarah A. SeoMichael I. Sovern Professor of Law
  • Ann Thornton, Vice Provost and University Librarian
  • Anne L. Taylor, John Lindenbaum Professor of Medicine at CUMC; Senior Vice President for Faculty Affairs and Career Development, Columbia University Irving Medical Center; Vice Dean for Academic Affairs, Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons