Approved Degrees

The Rules of the Board of Regents of New York State define the types of degrees the University can confer. These can be found on the web site of the New York State Education Department at the online source for New York Codes and Regulations.

Section 3.50 and Part 52.2 of the Rules provide a list of approved degrees; Section 3.47 describes their minimum requirements. If the New York State Board of Regents has not already recognized a proposed degree, the University cannot confer it until the Board has amended its regulations to allow all universities and colleges in the state to award it.

Schools may not offer programs of study leading to a degree other than those they currently award until the Trustees of the University have given their approval by amending the University Statutes.  You may click below to find a list of the degrees currently awarded by the University, organized by school.

    Degrees Awarded by School

    School of the Arts
    Master of Fine Arts (MFA)
    Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)

    Columbia College
    Bachelor of Arts (BA)

    School of Professional Studies
    Master of Science (MS)
    Master of Professional Studies (MPS)

    School of General Studies
    Bachelor of Arts (BA)

    Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
    Master of Arts (MA)
    Master of Philosophy (MPhil)
    Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)

    Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation
    Master of Architecture (MArch)
    Master of Science (MS)     

    Graduate School of Business
    Master of Business Administration (MBA)
    Master of Science (MS)

    Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Science
    Bachelor of Science (BS)
    Master of Science (MS)
    Doctor of Engineering Science (EngScD)

    School of International and Public Affairs
    Master of International Affairs (MIA)
    Master of Public Administration (MPA)

    Graduate School of Journalism
    Master of Science (MS)
    Master of Arts (MA)

    School of Law
    Juris Doctor (JD)
    Master of Laws (LLM)
    Doctor of the Science of Law (JSD)

    School of Social Work
    Master of Science (MS)

    College of Dental Medicine
    Master of Science (MS)
    Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS)

    College of Physicians and Surgeons
    Master of Science (MS)
    Doctor of Medicine (MD)
    Doctor of Medical Science (MedScD)
    Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT)
    Doctor of Occupational Therapy (OTD)

    School of Nursing
    Bachelor of Science (BS)    
    Master of Science (MS)
    Doctor of Nursing Practice (DrNP)

    Mailman School of Public Health
    Master of Science (MS)
    Master of Public Health (MPH)
    Master of Health Administration (MHA)
    Doctor of Public Health (DrPH)