Diana Dumitru

Diana Dumitru joined the Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement in 2021 and she is currently Director of Inclusive Faculty Pathways. Prior to this role, she served as Assistant Director of Faculty Retirement, where she was responsible for administering the Emeritus Professors in Columbia program (EPIC), managing a yearly membership campaign, a broad list of programming and events, an extensive communication effort and the department’s financial management. In addition, Diana was responsible for the programming, budget and communication for the Office of Faculty Retirement. Diana is also a member of the Task Force on Inclusion and Belonging.

Before joining the Office of the Provost, Diana held a dual role as Program Coordinator in the Office of Academic Affairs, Faculty Professional Development, Diversity & Inclusion and in the Office of the Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Development, College of Dental Medicine, where she coordinated various mentoring programs, diversity and inclusion programs, professional development programs and awards and recognition events. Prior to working at Columbia University, Diana worked for five years at Pace University holding positions in academic affairs for the Lienhard School of Nursing and working with students and faculty in the Office of the Provost. Diana has an additional 4 years of project management experience in the private sector. Her prior roles included academic affairs, budget and financial management, project and events management and communications.

Diana received her bachelor’s degree in Letters and Arts from Lucian Blaga University in Sibiu, Romania, and a master’s degree in Public Administration with a concentration in Nonprofit Administration from Pace University, where she graduated with honors and was recognized with the Outstanding Student of the Year Award: For Excellence in the Master’s Program.

In 2019, the District 26 City Council Member Jimmy Van Bramer recognized Diana with a “Special Contribution and Outstanding Service to the Community Award, Recognizing Women Who Lead in Our Community” for her position as the PTA co-president and her involvement with Participatory Budgeting in the community.