2022 Faculty Mentoring, Service, and Diversity Awards Announced

May 12, 2022

Dear fellow members of the Columbia community,

As this academic year comes to a close and we prepare for our first on-campus Commencement in three years, we have the opportunity to celebrate those who define Columbia’s excellence. We are pleased to recognize faculty whose work embodies Columbia’s commitment to inclusive excellence, a commitment the Office of the Provost strives to realize through a range of initiatives.

The Office of the Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement provides grant funding for individual faculty projects that help achieve Columbia’s diversity goals. In addition, the Faculty Mentoring Award (initiated in 2020) and the Faculty Service Award (2021), honor the recipients’ outstanding dedication to their colleagues and to the University as a whole.

We would like to recognize the 2022 recipients of the following awards:

Faculty Service Award

The Faculty Service Award was created to recognize full-time faculty members whose extraordinary, creative, and voluntary service has contributed significantly to the University’s diversity, equity, and inclusion efforts. We received moving and heartfelt testimony from colleagues, mentees, chairs, and deans, each recognizing the candidate’s tireless efforts and accomplishments.

Courtney D. Cogburn
Associate Professor of Social Work, School of Social Work

Jeanine D'Armiento
Professor of Medicine (in Anesthesiology and in Physiology and Cellular Biophysics), Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons

Christine P. Hendon
Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering, School of Engineering

Marisa Spann
Herbert Irving Associate Professor of Medical Psychology, Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons

Faculty Mentoring Award

The Faculty Mentoring Award recognizes senior faculty who have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to developing the careers of tenure-track and mid-career faculty.

Timothy Donnelly
Professor of Writing, School of the Arts

Adam Galinsky
Paul Calello Professor of Leadership and Ethics, Columbia Business School

Laura Kurgan
Professor of Architecture, Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation

Jane Waldfogel
Compton Foundation Centennial Professor for the Prevention of Children’s and Youth Problems, School of Social Work

Junior and Mid-Career Faculty Grants

These programs offer grant support to further the scholarship of outstanding junior and mid-career faculty who contribute to the diversity goals of the University through their research, teaching, and mentoring activities. For more information about the CUIMC Junior Faculty Grant Program, please click here.

The spring 2022 junior faculty grants awardees are:

Ishmail Abdus-Saboor
Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences (in the Mortimer B. Zuckerman Mind Brain Behavior Institute)
Does brain activity in the naked mole-rat govern cooperative social life?

Wei Cai
Assistant Professor of Business
Diversity Cascade

Robert Eschmann
Associate Professor of Social Work
Protecting Students Against Racism in Educational Settings: Developing and Evaluating a Virtual-Reality Based Intervention

Talia Gillis
Associate Professor of Law
Fairness Implications of Bargaining and Search Behavior in Mortgage Origination and Servicing

Jose McFaline-Figueroa
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Genetic determinants of tumor-immune cell interactions

The spring 2022 mid-career faculty grants awardees are:

Heidi Allen
Associate Professor of Social Work
Preparing Social Workers for the “Psychedelic Revolution” to Promote Equity in Mental Health

Catherine Fennell
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Ends of the House: Racism and Remediation in the Late Industrial Midwest

We are proud of this year’s achievements and we are delighted to support our awardees’ efforts on behalf of Columbia. Please join us in congratulating the recipients of these grants, and recognizing how they help us realize inclusive excellence.


Mary C. Boyce

Dennis A. Mitchell
Senior Vice Provost for Faculty Advancement
Executive Vice President for University Life